Current guidelines for the management of valvular heart disease

Current guidelines for the management of valvular heart disease

Below are links to the two current guidelines for the management of valvular heart disease, the 2014 AHA/ACC guidelines and the 2012 ESC/EACTS guidelines (both available free).

The 2014 AHA/ACC guidelines restructure the classification of valvular heart disease  into “at risk,” “progressive,” “asymptomatic severe,” and “symptomatic severe”. This is designed to help clinicians determine the optimal timing of intervention. The stages take into consideration the degree of valve narrowing or leakage, the presence of symptoms, the response of the left and/or right ventricle to the valve lesion, and any change in heart rhythm.

The 2014 AHA/ACC guidelines also addresses the complex use and management of transcatheter aortic valve implantation (TAVI, also referred to as transcatheter aortic valve replacement).


About The Author

Structural Heart Disease Australia

Structural Heart Disease Australia is an incorporated association focused on education in valvular and structural cardiac diseases. It was started by group of echocardiographers, anaesthetists, clinical and interventional cardiologists, and cardiothoracic surgeons to provide a useful learning resource for medical professionals.

SHDA is supported by

Recent Tweets


Upcoming Meetings


28julAll DaySHDA Aortic Valve Symposium 2018SHDA AVS 2018


02augAll Day05Cardiac Society of Australia & New Zealand (CSANZ) 66th Annual Scientific MeetingCSANZ 2018

03augAll Day05Australia & New Zealand Endovascular Therapies (ANZET) Meeting 2018ANZET 2018

25augAll Day29European Society of Cardiology (ESC) Congress 2018ESC 2018